My Ship Has Come In!

Just a little bit ago, while I was watching Tom and Jerry with the girls, I got this exciting email:

From: Richard D. Forrester, Esq. (For Trustees)
Managing Partner (Aaron & Partners LLP, Cheshire, England CH1 1HG)

Notification of Bequest.

On behalf of the Trustees and Executor of the estate of Late Engr. Mark Halligan, I once again try to notify you as my earlier letter was returned undelivered. I hereby attempt to reach you again by this same email address on the WILL. I wish to notify you that late Engr. Mark Halligan made you a beneficiary to his will. He left the sum of Nine Million, One Hundred Thousand US Dollars(US$9,100,000.00) to you in the codicil and last testament to his will.

This may sound strange and unbelievable to you, but it is real and true. Being a widely travelled man, he must have been in contact with you in the past or simply you were nominated to him by one of his numerous friends abroad who wished you good. Engr. Mark Halligan until his death was a former managing director and pioneer staff of a giant construction company (JULIUS BERGER). He was a very dedicated Christian who loved to give out. His great philanthropy earned him numerous awards during his life time. Late Engr. Mark Halligan died on the 9th day of February 2004 at the age of 82 years, and his WILL is now ready for execution.

According to him this money is to support your humanitarian activities and to help the poor and the needy.

Please If I reach you as I am hopeful, endeavor to get back to me as soon as possible by email: richardd.forrester@personal.ro to enable me conclude my job. You should forward along your current telephone number, including your current mailing address.

I hope to hear from you in no distant time.

Yours in His service,

Richard D. Forrester, Esq.

***

How exciting it feels to be rich. I’m not bothered by the fact that nowhere is my name mentioned. Or that some big time British lawyer uses an msn address to send mail and an email address in Romania for replies. I just wonder if the “Esq.” means he is a lawyer or the son of a British nobleman. Probably both.

You always hear about people falling for these things, but I honestly can’t believe that these dumbasses really believe anyone will fall for this or that anyone will.

I bet the real Richard Forrester would be stoked to find out someone is impersonating him in such a fine manner.

This lame attempt at a scam reminds me of one of the funniest lines from one of the funniest movies ever: “The Ring! I can’t believe you fell for the oldest trick in the book! What a fool, what’s with you man, c’mon!?”

Tags: ,
FacebookGoogle+StumbleUponFriendFeedDeliciousInstapaperRead It LaterShare

About Kent

Reader, writer, arithmeticer. Proprietor of Newsome.Org, a tech, music and life blog.

  • http://www.blogger.com/profile/02968082609803574304 Angie

    I just got the same email. 3 times in a row.My guy wasn’t in Romania though – UK instead. Gotta wonder about some people. Don’t they have better things to do with their time?

  • Anonymous

    I just got the same Email (Ver batum) Sounds WAY tooo good to be true but a friend sent me this address to see what the deal is.Thanks for the heads-up on the scam.yours,Philip K. Jenkins

  • Anonymous

    I just got another one. Something about a “Microsoft lottery” (Which I never entered)Is there a sign on my email that says the scam stops here?PKJenkins

  • Anonymous

    I just got the email, it’s still alive and kicking after three years even when Engr. Mark Halligan has been deceased. What a lame attempt to screw people.

  • Anonymous

    I just got the same email i googled Mark Halligan and it came up with this, What a LAME scam!!

  • Anonymous

    out of curiosity i decided to search this name (Mark Halligan) with google on the web and am amazed at what people would do to scam for money. In Nigeria this is called 419 and i would not be surprised if the idiots behind this letter are not Nigerianns.Ade

  • Anonymous

    And it’s still going! Just received this email (from Deacon M. Welling this time), same Engr. Mark Halligan… Googled the name out of curiosity and here I am! I get tons of these things a month, and usually at least 1 a day (usuall more)… Just how stupid do I think I am?!!The other common one I get is the Lottery one – and I know for a fact that they don’t email that information out to people!! D’oh…

  • Anonymous

    XD this is so funnyhumanitarian activities… sure…$9 mil? for me?i wud remember if i met an 82 yr old man XDeven my little cousin didnt fall for this, even told me nothing is free in this world XDits been going on for wks nowsometimes i check my junk mailbox juz for laughs, theres so much crap there XD

  • http://www.blogger.com/profile/14605129364062305502 bexy chiwade

    hahahaha this email is so0 frucKn stupid!!!!Hahaha I also googled Mar Haligan and I found this website….What a crappy way of tryna make money it’s stupid and it’s not even believable…my advice is if your gonna try and scam people outta their money, make it believable…And I don’t even have money lol so someone’s obviously barking up the wrong tree…hehehe

  • http://www.blogger.com/profile/13487786745068315142 konvict77

    got the same e-mail like everyone else here except now his name is david mclean esq. So I googled his name just to see what kind of scam it was because honestly you don’t just get $9.1 million from some guy you never met or from some dead guy who just happened to hear about you from a friend. Do they really think anyone would fall for this especially a convicted felon on parole. lol

  • http://www.blogger.com/profile/13487786745068315142 konvict77

    got the same e-mail like everyone else here except now his name is david mclean esq. So I googled his name just to see what kind of scam it was because honestly you don’t just get $9.1 million from some guy you never met or from some dead guy who just happened to hear about you from a friend. Do they really think anyone would fall for this especially a convicted felon on parole. lol